Growing up Groggy

Has it ever occurred to you how much college students resemble newborn infants?
We’re always hungry, often whining and constantly searching for a few minutes to sleep. The only difference is that public urination becomes a criminal offense.
I think it’s funny how small children fight nap time because they don’t want to miss anything, but college students center class schedules around sleep.
I always want to tell those young kids, “Go to bed! I’d do anything to sleep while my clothes magically clean themselves!”
They wouldn’t believe me. There’s too much fun to be had. But by the time high school rolls around, they’ll be craving nap time like an addict.
Between classes, on lunch breaks, on library couches, in the quad, on the bus . . . the possibilities are endless. Anything for 15 minutes of shut-eye.
Ever since we got married and started working full-time, the mister and I have been exhausted by 8 p.m. every night.
What are we, 80 years old?
No, we’re working. Welcome to adulthood.
I feel like I don’t have time for anything anymore. By the time I get home from work and put dinner on the table I’m too tired to even look at the to-do lists that are multiplying like rabbits.
I think the mister and I push ourselves to 10:30 p.m. out of defiance more than anything else. We refuse to accept that our early-morning days are likely over.
And I have a feeling it doesn’t get any better. Add sick children, irritable bosses and professional jobs, and we’re not likely to ever be rested again.
Obviously, the only solution is to go to one of those exotic destinations in the travel commercials with those people who lie on hammocks and drink rainbow-colored drinks without a care in the world.
There’s no stockpile of caffeine tablets in their bathroom cabinets, I can assure you. (Tylenol and red Gatorade may be another story, however.)
They say history is destined to repeat itself, so maybe the urge to sleep 20 hours a day means we’ve come full circle for the first time. Perhaps this continual exhaustion is a mark of true adulthood.
So I say embrace your inner child! Make friends with naptime! Just be sure you remember how to use a toilet on your own.

Penny for your thoughts?

