The Beginning of the End

One of my best friends told me last spring that she was excited about graduation and looking forward to getting her diploma, but the day after graduation “scared the poop out of her.”

Well, now I understand how she felt. The mister and I will graduate with our respective bachelor’s degrees this December, and while I will miss our college days, I’m looking forward to starting the next phase of our lives. December 15th can’t seem to get here fast enough; but December 16th scares me to death.

Today is the first day of our last undergraduate semester, and I can’t believe we’ve already come this far. I could spend hours talking about memories of the first day of my first semester, the girls I shared so many good years with and the things I’ve learned along the way. But I’ll focus on the future instead.

I’ve decided not to go to graduate school, despite the frequent and increasingly annoying assertions from my boss that “he knows I will.” (Sorry Dr. R, but you can’t change my mind.) However the mister needs to go somewhere. . . but “where???” is the question.

He could apply to graduate schools and earn his master’s and maybe even doctoral degrees. He could go straight into the work force anywhere in the country. Or, as I suppose is no longer a secret, he could go to vet school. . . in the Caribbean.

Yes, the Caribbean. The islands of St. Kitts and Nevis, to be exact. The school is called Ross Veterinary School and it has all the same classes, licenses and accreditations of a regular U.S. school. Our reasons for choosing this location are many and varied so I won’t get into them now, but it is an option we are seriously considering.

When I tell people their first reaction of course is “Wow that’s so cool! Who wouldn’t want to live in paradise for two years?” Well. . . it’s not that simple. We have to go through shipping our essentials and storing the non-essentials, for one thing. Then there are the residency laws and the fact that I probably won’t be able to get a job at all on the island. My only hope at this point seems to be finding freelance writing I can do over the internet.

Some I know would say, “No job? No problem! Just go to the beach!” But I am the sort of person who HATES to be bored. I hate not having constant things to do. I hate being useless. And we’ll need extra income somehow, because the mister will be in classes and clinicals full-time and sure won’t be working. And even the laziest of people would go crazy with NOTHING to do for two straight years!

But this is something he needs to do and this is the only way he can do it. He was born to be a vet; he’s good at it, it comes naturally, and animals of all kinds flock to him constantly. And I will go with him. I don’t know how it will all work out yet; I may spend my days scavenging the beach for food, but somehow it will work.

The mister and I would appreciate the prayers of all my readers that we lean on the Lord to help us choose the right path, that the mister is accepted and that we can find a way to support ourselves.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight.” (Proverbs 3:5-6)

2 thoughts on “The Beginning of the End

  1. That’s what you think now – about grad school. That’s what I said and here I am, a year and a half later, looking at my options.

Penny for your thoughts?

