Little Victories

I backed my car into a parking space today all by myself and didn’t damage anything.
If you’ve ever seen the way I drive backwards, you would understand why this is such a big deal. Parallel parking, mastered that. Backing up, however, is a problem.
I come from a long line of what I call “master backer-uppers.” My dad and grandfather can both back a full-size truck pulling an extra-long RV and a tow car across a ditch, between the mailbox and a tree, down the driveway and into a specified spot under the pines and stop before they hit the shed. The Mister can back a university cattle trailer down a narrow barn aisle. I, on the other hand, have a hard time backing the lawn mower in a straight line. Forget about blind spots and pedestrians.
It’s little victories that make the difference, really. The big triumphs only come on occasion, so you have to revel in the smaller satisfactions when they come. Today was one of those days. Not an overly fantastic day, but with enough of those small things to make it worth smiling about. My boss included me in an email sent to “his staff;” I got to play with a newborn lamb and coaxed a barn cat into letting me carry him around; cooked a corn casserole even the Mister liked; and didn’t get eaten by the normally-aggressive ducks we feed at the city pond.
I feel sorry for people who have a hard time appreciating those little gifts – the friends around them, the love of family, the opportunity to get an education… the list could go on and on.
I know this is a shorter post than usual, but I just want all of you reading this to take a moment and think about something that happened in your day that was a little victory, even when the rest of the day may have felt like a loss.
“This is the day the Lord has made; We will rejoice and be glad in it.” – Psalm 118:24

And for anyone who made need another extra boost of encouragement, take a look at this awesome video from the Kid President. At the very end, he mentions a little girl named Gabby fighting cancer. She’s a real little girl from middle Tennessee and my in-laws know her. Take the video to heart and remember, no matter what you may have gone through today, it could always be worse.

Penny for your thoughts?

