Why yes, I am having an out-of-body experience. Thank you.

This past weekend was a whirlwind of places I was never really meant to be.

Specifically, tractor supply stores.

I live in a town where a store called “Rural King” really is king. I’ve been there once in five years (before Saturday), and that was to meet my husband’s grandparents and lead them to our house. I really just don’t know how to feel about a store that sells live chickens, tractors, tennis shoes and popcorn all in the same section.

But Saturday was all about the Mister – finding work clothes, coveralls, boots, scrubs and other vet school supplies to pack in preparation for our move. And where else do you find farm boy work clothes than at a farm boy store? It was an eye-opening experience.

ASIDE: Did you know you can buy chicken coops that look like real houses????

This thing has more rooms than our apartment!

This thing has more rooms than our apartment!

Anyway, you could definitely tell I was out of my element. Even my CAR was out of place between all the crew cab trucks in the parking lot. The looks on the store clerks’ faces when I went over to ask about coveralls (the Mister was in the dressing room) were priceless, though. It’s as if they couldn’t figure out how a girl like me even knew what coveralls ARE, much less was actually in the store looking for them. (In fact, I asked myself that same question at several points during the shopping experience.)

Later Saturday afternoon, while at H&R Block getting our taxes finished, the guy filling out our forms got to the question, “Is the tax payer or the spouse deceased?” and actually confirmed, “And neither of you are deceased, correct?”

I wanted so badly to say, “Well yes, actually, I am,” but he didn’t look like one to take the joke too well, so I kept it to myself. Poor guy.

After much discussion, the Mister declared that we are no longer to talk about either of us being deceased. We are, however, allowed to discuss the possibility of being “decreased.”

(Start video at 7:00 if it doesn’t jump there on its own.)

And, in other Nut House News, hooray for post #50!!!! Come on now everyone, do the happy dance with me! 😀

happy dance

Do you have a story about being out of your element? Do you even have an element? Enlighten us. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Why yes, I am having an out-of-body experience. Thank you.

  1. Welcome to my “element”. I’ve been involved in animal agriculture for more than 20 years, and men still look at me with amusement like I don’t quite belong in their world. My husband can back a trailer hooked to a dually ANYWHERE!!! I backed my van out of the supply yard at Tractor Supply Co. and knocked the mirror off. I know, women drivers. The worst part was we were leaving for South Dakota 2 days later. Ever try to find a mirror for a van in 2 days?

Penny for your thoughts?

