She’s got a point here….

Yet another internet find with a valid point.  Enough of society teaches little girls early on about the “importance of being pretty;” why don’t we try to spend more time modeling the importance of being smart? I’m not saying you should never crouch down and compliment a little girl on her pretty new shoes or hair bows, but I do agree that we should take more care to ask about school, about reading, about science and see what kind of thinking we can start. 🙂

http://latinafatale.com/2011/07/21/how-to-talk-to-little-girls/

One thought on “She’s got a point here….

  1. I remember reading this same blog post a while back and I completely agree with the author’s committal to change tactics when talking to young girls. I try to make a point to ask my niece what she’s been studying in school and how things have been going *before* I comment on how cute her sparkly shirts are (because, let’s be honest, they ARE adorable). I know that not everyone else in my family is as conscious about what kind of message they’re sending when they comment on how pretty/skinny/short/etc. she is. She certainly is all of those, but I don’t want her thinking that only those particular physical attributes, or even her physical appearance in general, defines her as a person or is the source of her value. I don’t know how much difference it will make in the long run, but I know that I wish someone had done the same for me when I was growing up.

Penny for your thoughts?

