Top Ten Thursday – Things I’ve Learned from being a Big Sister

I can’t pinpoint exactly what my first memory ever is (I think it involves a neighbor lady in Knoxville with a room full of giant stuffed animals), but whenever I start thinking about early memories, I always come up with the same image: me and my brother staring at a pacifier floating in my parents’ toilet.

Now, I don’t know how it got there and I don’t remember how I even got involved, but I do remember my toddler brother and I standing in the master bathroom of our Clarksville house, staring down into the toilet – our small brains trying to figure out how to get his sucky-thing back without actually having to reach into the toilet.

Unfortunately, the outcome of this little adventure has been lost in time, but my toddler brother is 20 years old today. My, how time flies. We fought like cats and dogs until I moved out of the house and went to college, and I feel like our relationship has improved dramatically since we no longer lived together full time. Although I still don’t know him as well as I would like to, you do have to take into consideration that he IS a 20 year old guy, so what can you really know? Haha! Here are a few things I have learned from being a big sister for the past two decades:

1. Giant cardboard books make wonderful sleds for going down staircases.

2. It doesn’t matter if you’re out of Lego pieces and you only need one more for your creation – you do NOT take apart the Star Wars X-wing Fighter!

3. The little brother will someday look like a big brother, and it will be commented on in public. It will be embarrassing. The little brother will never let you forget it.

4. You torment him when he’s little and when he grows up he’ll pay you back.

5. Sometimes even the worst enemies can become allies. Especially when daddy is hiding somewhere in the hallway and you both have to go potty.

6. THE FLOOR IS LAVA!

7. A little brother is the best person to keep you company while you sit at the top of the stairs on Christmas morning and repeatedly ask your parents if you can come down yet. And then when they say no, you go back to bed and discuss what might be down there. And then sneak down anyway to see what you can see in the light of a flashlight. Until your parents figure out you’re doing this and start setting up the presents in the basement.

8. Nobody gets to tease my little brother but me!

9. There are just some things you don’t tell your parents.

10. There are very few people you can be more proud of than little brothers when they grow up to be good men. 🙂

So happy 20th birthday to my little brother; sorry I can’t be there, but I hope you get to have some fun anyway. Love, the best big sister ever. (Come on, you know it’s true…)

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Thursday – Things I’ve Learned from being a Big Sister

    • Loved this as usual. I am the baby of seven. It was a hard job but someone had to do it. That’s what I tell my baby girl now 33. The baby is always the baby no matter what. I know your brother missed you on his birthday. Valerie’s was today. She is 54 I think. I love her a lot. I was at the hospital the day she was born. How time flies.
      Love to the mister. Great aunt Jo Ann.

Penny for your thoughts?

