Top Ten Thursday – Things You Don’t Consider When You Raise Little Dogs

My family has owned little dogs my entire life, specifically dachshunds (wiener dogs). My dog, Susie’s, biggest fear was thunderstorms and her biggest accomplishment was climbing up onto the footstool beside the couch. My grandparents’ wiener dogs sleep in tiny kennels that fit easily into a car’s front floorboard, and they can be carried around with one arm when necessary.

Our dog is not like that.

Meera’s kennel doesn’t fit into a car unless you take it apart; she eats about five pounds of dog food a week; and, at five months old, already has a bark that puts fear into the hearts of visiting maintenance men. Meera has long conquered the footstool and is now working on the kitchen table. Heaven help us.

So here is a list of things my dachshunds never made me think about, but that Meera sends through my mind on a daily basis.

1. If she stands on her back legs, she can reach things on top of the kitchen table. Soon she’ll probably be able to just eat at the table.

2. She doesn’t have to jump against the bed to wake me up in the morning; she just sticks her nose into my face, since she’s as tall as the bed anyway.

3. One rawhide bone typically lasts about two days.

4. She can get stuck under the bed and sometimes requires help to get out.

5. I can’t pick her up easily anymore, which makes doing things she doesn’t like, like climbing into cars, rather difficult.

6. I have to check the kitchen counters (still thankfully higher than the table) before I leave to make sure there’s nothing out that she might like to try jumping for.

7. She’s grown out of sleeping on a little rug in the floor and has now claimed the futon as her personal bed. (She takes up half of it.)

8. She has graduated from shredding the husk off coconuts and can now break them open and scatter the pieces to the ends of the earth.

9. I only remember one person (coughAnnaLisecough) ever being afraid of Susie, whereas I get frequent requests from visitors and maintenance people to “put the dog away before I come in.”

10. She will one day take up the entire backseat of our car, rather than just the front floorboard.

But, despite all these things and regardless of the way my family feels about her inevitable size, I love every big-dog inch of her. It’s just a learning process to go from ankle-size to waist-size.

Oh, and she has developed some sort of vendetta against paper products. Writing paper, paper towels, Kleenexes – it doesn’t matter, it must die. When she knocks over the garbage can (thankfully still the small ones in our room and not the big one in the kitchen) she leaves everything where it falls except paper. That she shreds into thousands of tiny pieces and scatters throughout the house so that they can’t magically reassemble. Who knows? Goofy dog.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Thursday – Things You Don’t Consider When You Raise Little Dogs

  1. I just have one comment. I am sticking with our cat Chester. Hee!! Hee!! When you fall in love with an animal it is very much a family member. Love to you both.

  2. I have to say that I had a similar experience once I started house sitting for my friend Susie (human). Over the past 5 years, Truman has become my “benchmark dog,” which means that any dog weighing more than 7 or 8 pounds is considered large and virtually untamable. Susie’s dog Chipper, while not actually a large dog, is at least 4 times Truman’s size— as you can imagine, I had no idea what I was signing up for. Did you know, for instance, that some dogs are tall enough to get onto the kitchen counter and eat a whole pan full of cookies? Or that some dogs are strong enough to open the shower door so they can eat (yes, EAT) your shower scrubby and razor? Truman, my standard for what a dog could and should be like, never did those things. But Chipper did.

    (I should add that Chipper is a really sweet and beautiful dog that I love. He just does some crazy things that made me nervous to tell Susie 🙂 No worries though; he’s fine.)

  3. Big or small all dogs have their own personality and each are special in there own way. I love all the little idiosyncrasies that make each one different and so very special.

  4. I am right there with you! Had small dogs growing up and then after marriage, was Mom to 2 German Shepherds. On their back legs, they were nearly eye-to-eye with me. I miss Franz waking me up by sticking his cold wet nose into my arm or side. I miss Hans getting scared by thunder and sitting against me (actually on my feet) for protection. We bought 40 lbs of food every few months.

    Now that we have Chloe, we live in a teeny, mini world. A 5 lb. bag of food lasts for weeks. We buy teeny Greenies, mini rawhide bones, small everything. Total change but just as much fun! She sleeps in or under our bed and is Momma’s little princess!

Penny for your thoughts?

