Momma Hen, Hard at Work

And I actually mean that more literally than you might think. I’m hatching chicks faster than a barnyard hen house!

crochet animals

Five chicks and (now three) bunnies ready to go to their new homes!

I posted a notice on the Ross Students’ Facebook page last Tuesday asking how many people might be interested if I decided to make Easter chicks to sell on campus before the April break – just as a feeler for the idea. I was amazed when I had to shut down the post after 18 hours because I had 13 chicks and 12 bunnies ordered in less than a day!

So, needless to say, I’ve been pretty busy ever since. I’m averaging two animals a day, so I hope to have this first batch of orders done by the middle of March. And I already have people wanting to jump in on another batch to be done by the end of finals in April! I am both amazed and honored.

I know I’m not charging enough for them, but it was a special Easter thing, so I can call this first go-round a “sale item.” This morning a launched a Facebook page where people can keep track of their order’s progress and ask about special items (which of course depend on my yarn supply at the moment).

Even though the page says in three different places that I’m working on Easter orders and not accepting new requests at this time, I’ve had three different people ask for specialized animals in the last three hours. Two of them I should be able to fill sometime this year – but one student wanted three green vervet monkeys with the Veterinary Staff of Asclepius on their bellies by the end of the semester. Good grief! I’m not even sure you can do that with crochet stitches! Cross stitch, probably, but I’ve never learned to do that. And by the end of the semester!? No way in the world am I that good, even if I could figure out how to make one by then. Unfortunately, I had to tell the young lady no. Hopefully she’ll find something else equally as special for her departing friends.

green vervet monkey on a face

This is a green vervet, in my backyard actually! So cool that I didn’t have to steal a picture from Google!

Anyway, looks like I may have found a source of income after all! Which is good, since the school PR office has never gotten back to me about freelancing and Thing 1 and Thing 2’s parents are adding Thing 3 soon and won’t be needing me for many months.

Check out the Chesnut Crochet Creations Facebook page through the link above and let me know what you think! Sorry, island orders only.

7 thoughts on “Momma Hen, Hard at Work

  1. These are ADORABLE. I know you said island orders only, so I’m obviously not getting my hopes up, but I want you to know that I’d order in a heartbeat if I could. So so so so so so cute. It makes my heart hurt, so cute.

      • I used to know how to crochet in a straight (or semi-straight) line, so looking at stuffed animals boggles my mind. Did you just teach yourself?

      • Well mom taught me the basics when i was little, and there’s really only one or two stitches in an animal, so all you need to know how to do is read a pattern. I practiced with several and then started making the bigger ones. It’s really not much different from going in a straight line except that you link the ends to go in a circle.

      • Going to be honest, that’s still kind of intimidating to me. 🙂 But I did learn how to knit last year, so there’s hope for me yet. I see little cute things like your animals and its motivational!

      • Going to be honest, that’s still kind of intimidating to me. 🙂 But I did learn how to knit last year, so there’s hope for me yet. I see little cute things like your animals and it’s motivational!

Penny for your thoughts?

