An Exciting Announcement

My goodness the past week has been a whirlwind! I started working at a popular local retail outlet (which shall henceforth be referred to as “the undisclosed location,” or UNDL) last weekend and have been there all day, every day this week.

Except for Wednesday, on which wonderful things happened.

The Mister and I went up to Martin for a day trip to look at rental houses and so I could have a second interview with a local business. The job looked promising and the interviews went well, so I left that office feeling pretty good about myself and our future. It wasn’t a full-time position, so I would have to look for a second job to fill out my paycheck, but a job is a job and I think I would have enjoyed working there.

They ended up offering me the position on Thursday morning, but I didn’t take it.

Because as soon as I left them on Wednesday, I got an out-of-the-blue phone call from my old boss where I worked before vet school, letting me know that they rewrote one of the open positions to meet my qualifications and wanted me to start as soon as possible.

Full-time. With health benefits. And a tuition break for the Mister’s classes in January. And some moving expenses.

We pulled over in the First State parking lot and I cried. I would have done a happy dance right there by the road if there hadn’t been so many people in the drive-thru.

So, while the official signatures are still being processed, I am excited to announce that I have officially (over the phone, anyway) accepted a full-time, three-year position with the University of Tennessee at Martin and we will be moving as soon as we finalize a lease.

God has been good to us and blessed us beyond what we could have asked for for ourselves. He knows what we should be doing, and thank goodness He looks out for His own.

It’s good to be going home. 🙂

Happy Friday!
/the missus

12 thoughts on “An Exciting Announcement

  1. Erin,

    Your old boss told me the good news yesterday. I can’t wait for you to get back! You and I may have to talk “crochet” ☺.

    Congratulations!!

    Stephanie

    ******************************************************************************
    [http://www.utm.edu/departments/univrel/_imgs/1395698456-UTM-Email-Sig.jpg]
    Stephanie Kolitsch
    Coordinator, SACS Accreditation
    Director, QEP MILE Program
    The University of Tennessee at Martin
    310 Administration Bldg.
    Martin, TN 38238
    731.881.7477
    styler@utm.edu
    *******************************************************************************

  2. That is totally AWESOME! You go, girl! So excited for you and Matthew. I knew things were going to work out well. God always has a better plan.

  3. I have never heard such good news. That is absolutely awesome. So proud for both of you. Let us know of any way that we can help you. Need to borrow a good truck? Ha!

  4. We have never met. I am a Professor in the Midwest.I’ve been following your blog since St Kitts. My son is finishing 5th semester there. I loved hearing about st kitts week by week in your blog and I was heartbroken that a young man with a passion had such a huge roadblock placed in his path and reluctantly had to return home. Now I see you have kept putting one foot in front of the other and and are making a big leap forward. At the risk of sounding corny, my mother always told me that the measure of a person cannot be made when everything is easy, but rather with how he deals when things are hard. Best wishes to you and the Mister and hopes for some smooth sailing ahead.

    • Awwww! Thank you so much, this made my day! The Mister says many thanks and best of luck to your son down on the island. I hope he has better tidings than we did. We are happy to finally have a definite plan and a goal ahead. The worst part I think was being in limbo, but the mister is going to get his vet tech license and work on a master’s degree, so all is not lost. Thank you so much for reading with me for so long and for all your kind thoughts and words. 🙂

Penny for your thoughts?

