Freedom and the Open Road

I drove myself to work today!

Why is that such a big deal, you ask? Well, I’ll tell you. Since we came back from the island we’ve had one car between us – which isn’t the end of the world, of course, but it does require some interesting scheduling when both of us have work/school at different times of the day and night. I’ve been fortunate enough to have a wonderful coworker who lives out our way and has been willing to take me home on the nights that I would otherwise have been waiting in the office long after the building had closed. But we couldn’t just do that forever.

We are incredibly blessed to have good families who help us through rough times, and I inherited (on loan) a car this past weekend from my great-grandmother who has given up driving. It’s older than I am, but hey! It has wheels and an engine and it gets the mister where he needs to go without us having to go everywhere together! (And any married person knows you can’t do EVERYTHING together…)

I can go to the post office on my lunch break. I can go to Wal-Mart after work. I can go to Wal-Mart after work by myself! (I prefer to do my shopping alone.) Martin’s not a very big place, but I can go wherever I want to and I’m LOVING it!

And, in other news, every single article on the UT Martin homepage was written by me, so that makes me feel important for the day. #UTMAdvantage

That is all. Happy Thursday. 🙂

/the missus

Penny for your thoughts?

