Long live Scooter!

When I was in high school, I made a deal with my parents. (I can’t take credit for this wonderful idea – I stole it from a friend – but it served me well nonetheless.)

The deal was if I could earn at least half of college tuition in scholarships, they would help me buy myself a car. If I could earn a full ride, they would buy me a car.

Well, in the end, my dad bought himself a car my senior year of high school and then got deployed, so I used it while he was gone. Then when I got my full ride, they just figured it would be easier to let me take that car with me to college since I had already formed an emotional attachment to him.

That car, a small Honda Civic affectionately known as “Scooter,” has kept the roads warm between Weakley and Rutherford counties, and eventually Maury County, since 2008. He took me and my college roommate on a spontaneous road-trip through four states one weekend. He carried the Mister and I away from our wedding reception (and through a torrential hail storm five minutes later) and up into the Appalachian Mountains on our honeymoon. He’s been driven by myself, all three of my immediate family members, the Mister and at least two (maybe three) of my college roommates.

I’ve been a long way in that car. He came off the lot with something like 20 miles, and has almost 104,000 miles now.

Then, last Monday, this happened:

IMG_0159 IMG_0160

My poor baby! Scooter and I were blindsided by a Ford F-250 pickup truck last week. The truck tried to pass me in the left lane on a two-lane road with a solid yellow line. I didn’t realize he was there and tried to make a left turn (into my own driveway). You see the result.

Thankfully there were no injuries, although my precious Scooter was in shambles. Everyone has told me, “Cars can be replaced, but you cannot,” and I know that’s true. I am grateful he took the impact instead of me, but I still hurt for him.

The Mister and I have been preparing ourselves to have Geico total him out and write us a check for a replacement vehicle. But guess what? The insurance adjuster came today and HE’S NOT TOTALED!

Scooter is getting a free ride to a body shop tomorrow, and hopefully within the next week or two will come back as good as new.

Long live Scooter! 😀

The Geico guy pointed out today exactly how lucky I (and Scooter) got. I already knew that, had the truck squarely hit the driver’s door, the car would not have absorbed so much of the impact and I would have been seriously injured.

But, he also pointed out, had the truck squarely hit the front tire, Scooter would likely have snapped his front axle and have been totaled out and replaced.

IMG_0163

That is apparently the perfect sweet spot for this type of accident – right there on the main support framework between the door and the wheel well. God works in mysterious ways.

So, all in all, pretty good news today. We’ve also got one hour left to hear back on an offer we made on a house…. so we’ll see about that. Maybe my next post will have stereotypical “standing in front of the SOLD sign” photos. 🙂

Happy Thursday!

Love,

The Missus (and Scooter)

 

One thought on “Long live Scooter!

Penny for your thoughts?

